Irish Grand National [2018] | Irish grand National Runners, Past Winners and Tips

Irish Grand National 2018 - Fairyhouse

If you're looking for AINTREE GRAND NATIONAL information click here

Skip to
  1. Irish Grand National Tips
  2. Irish Grand National Runners 2018
  3. Irish Grand National Past Winners/History
  4. Irish Grand National Free Bets

About the Irish Grand National at Fairyhouse

County Meath has always been the home of the Grand national since it's inaugural running in 1870 won by Sir Robert Peel. The winner's prize money was a princely sum of 167 Sovereigns 

If you had 167 Sovereigns today they would be worth €41,409. Not a bad haul, but incomparable to the €270,000 that will go to the winner this year.

No horse has ever won both the Irish and Aintree Grand Nationals in the same year, but a few have won both. First to achieve the feat was Ascetic's Silver in 1906, and the last Numbersixvalverde in 2005 and 2006.

Irish Grand National Runners 2018

We will keep this page updated with the latest news and runners at each declaration stage for the 2018 Irish Grand National at Fairyhouse

Irish Grand National Past Winners

Here are the past ten winners of the Irish Grand National - For the full list of every winner since 1870, check our full Irish Grand national Results page
Year Horse Age Weight Jockey Trainers
2008 Hear the Echo 7 10-00 Paddy Flood Mouse Morris
2009 Niche Market 8 10-05 Harry Skelton Bob Buckler
2010 Bluesea Cracker 8 10-04 Andrew McNamara James Motherway
2011 Organisedconfusion 6 09-13 Miss Nina Carberry Arthur Moore
2012 Lion Na Bearnai 10 10-05 Andrew Thornton Thomas Gibney
2013 Liberty Counsel 10 09-05 Ben Dalton Dot Love
2014 Shutthefrontdoor 7 10-13 Barry Geraghty Jonjo O'Neill
2015 Thunder And Roses 7 10-06 Ms Katie Walsh Sandra Hughes
2016 Rogue Angel 8 10-06 Ger Fox Mouse Morris
2017 Our Duke 7 11-04 Robbie Power Jessica Harrington


Free Bets